Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas Book Review

I am sure that you are all sick of hearing about The Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Maas.  I did take a break from posting these reviews. But I hadn’t stopped reading them. Luckily the end of the month coincided with the longer books in this series.  

Quuen of Shadows, Throne of glass book 4 by Sara J Maas Book cover

As with all series, the books do get longer and in a way, I am dreading reading the final book, after all, it is nearly 1000 pages.  I will let you know how I get on with that when I get there. But first I will give you the review that you have come here for. 

The plot of Queen of Shadows is full of twists and turns, much like the previous ones it pulls you forward revealing more and more about the actions of the characters, trying to understand what is going on around them, and how they can stop the tragedies that are occurring daily around them. As the characters make choices which appear completely irrational to their characters as the plots developed the decisions make more and more sense and the writing weaves itself to its crescendo.   

The characters continue to develop in this story, I finally understand why the Ironteeth witches were included and an emotional connection to them has occurred meaning that I can finally enjoy those parts of the story. In each book, each of the characters have had something that they personally need to overcome and this and often an internal battle or two.  As the Throne of Glass series has progressed the characters have developed and changed as they learn new things, or face inner demons.

Sarah J Maas has an incredible talent and a unique voice. Her worldbuilding melds perfectly with her prose. It never comes across when you are being informed about a place, you only hear about the world immediately around the characters.  There was little foreshadowing that I noticed however there are still three books to go so there may well have been some hidden in the depths. 

One of the things explored in this book is Loyalty. The different types of loyalty are seen, blind loyalty in your leader and family. Loyalty between friends and enemies when united by a common goal.  

In places, this book is heartbreaking but it can also be life-affirming. It shows that every choice you make can have an impact and the book those the positives and negatives of this.


I give this five stars (much like the others)  did not want to surface from the world created by the author or the challenges that the world was facing. 

Time to start the next one!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.